PDA

View Full Version : Silly question...sorry

Toohard
05-22-2011, 09:51 PM
Sorry silly question(s). Am new to Harnesslink so please excuse my ignorance. Have asked around and not got any 'satisfactory' answers. Understand no rules to it but would appreciate your comments/answers.

1. When they say your mare is a "XX" line mare, to which line are they referring? Can draw many lines through the pedigree, but which one is the the 'line'?

2. Age. If I look at Christian Cullens pedigree (for example) I see Tar Heel back as one of his 'great grandfathers'. From what I can see he was 25 years old when he served 'In the Pockets' grand mother (Miss Skipper). Due to age, is he excluded from any 'pedigree matching'?

Sorry again to ask silly questions.

mango
05-22-2011, 10:13 PM
Hi Toohard

It's not a silly question if you don't know the only way to find out is ask. Now i'm still learning myself but as far as i understand age doesn't exclude them from pedigree matching but some people when trying to match stallions with mare's don't look back past 4-5 generations. Now i'm not sure what you mean by "xx" line mare but if you mean say 3x3 cross that would be say a filly by Art Major infoal to Rocknroll Heaven and that would give you a 3m, 3f to Artsplace. I hope this helps.

Toohard
05-23-2011, 12:25 PM
Thanks very much for your response mango

Should have made my question clearer. Was doing some reading and read "This stallion would be suited to Abercrombie line mares". I have a mare by Perfect Art out of a Caesar Blue Chip mare.

Perfect Art is by Artsplace who is by Abercrombie. Caesar Blue Chip is by Most Happy Fella.

Does this make my mare an Abercrombie line mare or a Most Happy Fella line mare? Or both? Or neither i.e. should I be looking at the 'female' side of her pedigree to work out what line mare she is?

Cheers and thanks again

mango
05-23-2011, 05:16 PM
Hi Toohard