Roll With Joe
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Class Question

Junior Member Foal newbie will become famous soon enough
    Real Name
    Dave Wi

Class Question

Hi, I am pretty new to harness racing. I have a rough idea of how the classes progess ie C0, C1, M1 etc but am trying to work out how a horse can race in the same class again after it just won in that class. ie: a 4YO pacer wins a C1 and then a few starts later is still able to run in another C1 (no handicap etc, just a normal Mobile start). I would have thought that horse would now be a C2 and ineligible to race in C1?

Apologies its probably such an easy thing to know but Im still trying to get my head around it!

thanks

D

Junior Member Weanling FINEST will become famous soon enough
    Real Name
    AMANDA MEAD
    Horses
    CHASE AUCKLAND
    Dave,
    In Victoria this can happen for two reasons 1.A Junior claiming driver 2. A Mare can receive one class reduction when racing the boys.

Senior Member Horse Of The Year mightymo will become famous soon enough
    Real Name
    Harvey Kaplan
    Horses
    Bling It On, Nike Franco, Cruz Bromac
    what Amanda said is correct. In addition, other than Vic, if a horse is a particular class at close of acceptance time it can go in the race even if it wins a race in between the second race

If you give us the name, I can have a look at it

Senior Member Horse Of The Year Toohard will become famous soon enough Toohard's Avatar
    Real Name
    Paul Humphreys
    Horses
    PalaisDuLouvre,Trip 7s, AnythingForLove
    Can also happen if C0 win was a heat and next race the final. Also sometimes they have penalty free races eg. Invitation drivers races.

Senior Member Colt Chariots will become famous soon enough
    Real Name
    Ray Coote
    Just to make it a bit harder for you Newbie in some circumstances a horse can $500k as a 2 and 3 year old and still be a CO.